Arkansas Chapter of the Fulbright Association

News & Updates

Welcome to the Fulbright Association Arkansas Chapter web site.  I am so pleased to be working with Micheal Tarver (Vice President) and DeDe Long (Treasurer) to grow and strengthen the Arkansas Chapter of the Fulbright Association.  I hope you will join with us to make the Arkansas Chapter an active and exciting organization.

The Fulbright Association is made up of alumni and supporters of the Fulbright Scholarship Program.  We share the common experience of having developed friendships in nations around the world.  The Fulbright Program is known as the flagship US government initiative to promote peace and understanding through international educational exchange.  In Arkansas, we have many Fulbright alumni and Fulbright scholars from around the world at our universities and research centers.

One of the goals of the Arkansas Fulbright Association Chapter is to connect Fulbright alumni to share experiences with each other and to connect the alumni with current visiting Fulbrighters from other countries. We will be using the Arkansas Fulbright Association Chapter web site as our main means of communication for Chapter activities for Fulbright Association members and current Fulbrighters to meet and interact.

I would also urge you to join the Fulbright Association ( if you have not done so already.  This helps the Arkansas Chapter expand our activities and better serve our members.

Please contact us if you would like to become more involved in the Fulbright Association or if you have ideas about activities for our members.

Glen Harrison
Little Rock


H. Micheal Tarver

DeDe Long



Fulbright Chronicles

A new, independent, open access, peer reviewed periodical featuring the work of Fulbright scholars
Fulbright Chronicles is not an official site of the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State. The views expressed in the periodical’s articles are entirely those of their authors and do not represent the views of the Fulbright Program, the U.S. Department of State, or any of its partner organizations.

Fulbright Prize 2024

Arkansas Chapter FA Treasurer DeDe Long attended the 2024 Fulbright Prize ceremony. This year’s prize went to Gary White and Matt Damon for their work in making water more available in developing nations. For more information, see


Photo of Matt Damon and Gary White of visit a village in India.

Matt Damon and Gary White of visit a village in India. Gary White (left) and Matt Damon (right), co-founders of, a global nonprofit organization working to bring water and sanitation to the world, meet with beneficiaries in India. Starting in 2008 through their Commitment to Action, the PepsiCo Foundation and worked together to bring people in India access to clean water and sanitary toilets. Photo courtesy of (2009)

Clinton Presidential Center Presents “Václav Havel at the White House”


Veronika Brázdilová, a Fulbright Scholar was on a panel to discuss Clinton Presidential Center Presents “Václav Havel at the White House”.  The event — which can be viewed at — was attended by several Central Arkansas FA members. Shown in the photograph below are Veronika Brázdilová, Henry Sirgo, Mariofanna Milanova, and Glen Harrison.


Václav Havel Visit 2

Fulbright Advocacy Meetings for 2024

Focus on Advocacy in the Arkansas Offices of U.S. Congressmen

District 1, Rick Crawford’s Office (Jonesboro): (L-R) Jackie McBride, Professor of Education at Arkansas State University; Charles Landrum, Director of Grants and Community Management for Rep. Crawford; Glen Harrison, Arkansas Chapter FA President


District 2, French Hill’s Office (Little Rock): (L-R) Mariofanna Milanova, Department of Computer Science at University of Arkansas Little Rock; Raegan Sharp, District Representative for Rep. Hill; Veronika Brázdilová, Fulbright Scholar from the Czech Republic; Hunter Sadler, Director of Constituent Services for Rep. Hill; Glen Harrison, Arkansas Chapter FA President.


District 3, Steve Womack’s Office (Fayetteville): (L-R) DeDe Long; Veronika Brázdilová (Czech Republic); Maria Lopez Rojas (Costa Rica); Jordan Hale, Field Director for Rep. Womack. Meeting at the Office of Study Abroad and International Exchange on the University of Arkansas campus.

District 4, Bruce Westerman’s Office (Hot Springs): (L-R) Henry Sirgo, Department of Political Science at McNeese University, emeritus; Cody Burkham, District Director for Rep. Westerman; Pamela Moore, Associate Dean for Global Engagement, University of Arkansas Pine Bluff; Glen Harrison, Arkansas Chapter FA President.


For the Report, in Adobe Acrobat format, click here.